Home News Reviews Forums Shop


Official K-Probe Discussion (Tool for Scanning C1C2/PIPO)

General discussion about recordable CD, DVD and BD media and write quality testing.

Postby Inertia on Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:35 pm

I updated to K-Probe 1.1.16 on two Win98SE computers, both with LiteOn LTR-52246S burners. When starting different tests, it locked both computers up, requiring reboots.

I went back to v1.1.14 which at least works on my computers.
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:43 am

Halc wrote:Anybody still got 1.1.14 stashed somewhere? I accidentally overwrote my copy with 1.1.16.

cheers,
halcy


I need it too.. :cry:
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 15009
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby rdgrimes on Thu Jul 10, 2003 8:54 am

rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby Halc on Thu Jul 10, 2003 9:01 am

Thanks rdgrimes!

cheers,
halcy
User avatar
Halc
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 9:13 am

Postby CDHero on Thu Jul 10, 2003 11:28 am

Inertia wrote:I updated to K-Probe 1.1.16 on two Win98SE computers, both with LiteOn LTR-52246S burners. When starting different tests, it locked both computers up, requiring reboots.

I went back to v1.1.14 which at least works on my computers.


I will try again , sorry~~~
:cry:
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby Ian on Thu Jul 10, 2003 11:30 am

Thanks rd..
"Blu-ray is just a bag of hurt." - Steve Jobs
User avatar
Ian
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 15009
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2001 2:34 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Postby Inertia on Thu Jul 10, 2003 4:17 pm

karr_wang wrote:
Inertia wrote:I updated to K-Probe 1.1.16 on two Win98SE computers, both with LiteOn LTR-52246S burners. When starting different tests, it locked both computers up, requiring reboots.

I went back to v1.1.14 which at least works on my computers.


I will try again , sorry~~~
:cry:


Karr Wang, please don't take my report as criticism. We are willing participants in this project, and are aware that in beta program development there will be mishaps along the way. :)

The time and effort that you have put into this project is very much appreciated, and I wish to commend you for your generosity and gracious response to feedback. :)
Inertia
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 5:22 pm

Postby KCK on Thu Jul 10, 2003 5:35 pm

Karr Wang:

Both KProbe 1.1.16 and MInfo 1.5 fail with "Access violation at address 00000000. Read of address 00000000." on my XP Pro SP1 box (LTR-48125W VS0D in an external FireWire enclosure, no ASPI).

I hope this info will help in your debugging. 8)
KCK
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:55 pm

Postby CDHero on Wed Jul 16, 2003 10:57 am

KCK wrote:Karr Wang:

Both KProbe 1.1.16 and MInfo 1.5 fail with "Access violation at address 00000000. Read of address 00000000." on my XP Pro SP1 box (LTR-48125W VS0D in an external FireWire enclosure, no ASPI).

I hope this info will help in your debugging. 8)


Thanks for your help!!
According to the message , I think it shoud be a null pointer assignment.
I will check it ASAP.
I have released 1.1.17.If it still has problem , you can mail me directly!!
Thanks !!
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby 0xdeadbeef on Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:44 pm

Just two little remarks:

On my system (Win XP, SP1, JLMS XJ-HD166S DS18), the manufacurer is never shown. It always says:
Manufacturer =



Second thing is that obviously KProbe refuses two work if a Video-DVD was played by a sw DVD Player before even if it's not CSS protected. Dunno how reproducable this is, but my impression is, that it's at least close to 100%.
life's a bitch and the you die
0xdeadbeef
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:37 pm

Postby cfitz on Wed Jul 16, 2003 1:15 pm

karr_wang wrote:I have released 1.1.17


Thanks Karr. But where did you release it? It isn't here, it isn't at your old (defunct?) site, and I don't see it at CDFreaks either (they still have 1.1.16).

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby aviationwiz on Wed Jul 16, 2003 2:32 pm

I can't find 1.1.17 anywhere either.
User avatar
aviationwiz
Plextor Fan(atic)
 
Posts: 4069
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 2:55 am
Location: Home of the Red Tail

Postby rdgrimes on Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:12 pm

Version 1.1.17

Release notes
1.Fix bug : KProbe will hang on win98 while scanning C1/C2
2.New feature : Realtime show current speed.

Install version:
http://upload.cdfreaks.com/Kprobe/KPSetup.exe

Update version:
http://upload.cdfreaks.com/Kprobe/KProbe.zip
rdgrimes
CD-RW Player
 
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 10:27 pm
Location: New Mexico, USA

Postby 0xdeadbeef on Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:53 pm

Manufacturer code now works for most of my DVDs, but not for Ritek G04. Any idea?
life's a bitch and the you die
0xdeadbeef
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:37 pm

Postby MediumRare on Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:46 pm

Thank you for the new version. :D

Karr Wang- I really like the indication of the reading speed. Unfortunately, the bug in detecting the disc size is still present, so I'll stay with 1.1.14 for the time being.

I prepared the rest of this post before finding out about the new version. 1.1.17 seems to behave like 1.1.14 at max scan speed. The speed shown in this case is a house number (5496?? x).

I wanted to examine the critical part of an audio CD (not CDR) that shows C2 errors when scanned at max. speed. I tried to select just a portion of the disk (from ca. 50-55 min., total 57:33) with KProbe to save time, and ran into problems.
Scanning at max. was not possible in Version 1.1.16 or any of the earlier versions I still had:
- 1.1.12 and earlier showed "031100 Unrecovered read error"
- 1.1.14 at max scan speed: scans at ca. 1-2x, dies quietly at 8-10 min.
- 1.1.16 at max scan speed: like 1.1.14 but dies with protection exception
- 1.1.16 at 8x scan speed: scans at 8x, starts at start of disk, stops at chosen end time (55 min.)

Image

I made a screen shot of the this last case after ca. 18 min. were scanned. This is far enough into the disk that it's certain that the absolute disk time (and not a delta from the start position) is being shown. Note the portion scanned (-633% !!!!). This value is based on 0-100% = 50-55 min.

I guess this is not a terrible problem- normally we do want to scan an entire disk.

Another question- how is the "Disk Identification" (e.g. 0001C662h) determined that is shown on the information panel?

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby CDHero on Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:46 am

0xdeadbeef wrote:Just two little remarks:

On my system (Win XP, SP1, JLMS XJ-HD166S DS18), the manufacurer is never shown. It always says:
Manufacturer =



Second thing is that obviously KProbe refuses two work if a Video-DVD was played by a sw DVD Player before even if it's not CSS protected. Dunno how reproducable this is, but my impression is, that it's at least close to 100%.



DVD166S is not a writer , so it is unable to read atip.
That is to say , ROM drive cannot identify disc manufacturer.
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby 0xdeadbeef on Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:59 am

Of course the 166S can read the manufacturer ID! It could always read it with DVDInfo and - since 1.1.17 - it even works with KProbe!

E.g. for my Verbatim DVDs at least until 1.1.14 I didn't get a manufacturer code, now (1.117) I get:
"Manufacturer = CMC Magnetics Corporation".

Still, "Ritek G04" ist still not recognized, but it is with DVDInfo.
life's a bitch and the you die
0xdeadbeef
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:37 pm

Postby CDHero on Fri Jul 18, 2003 11:14 am

0xdeadbeef wrote:Of course the 166S can read the manufacturer ID! It could always read it with DVDInfo and - since 1.1.17 - it even works with KProbe!

E.g. for my Verbatim DVDs at least until 1.1.14 I didn't get a manufacturer code, now (1.117) I get:
"Manufacturer = CMC Magnetics Corporation".

Still, "Ritek G04" ist still not recognized, but it is with DVDInfo.


It is because DVD166S can send readDVDStructure command to drive.
Basically , DVD-ROM drives still cannot recognize CD disc.
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby CDHero on Fri Jul 18, 2003 11:16 am

I have finished my download web :

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/

Thank you very much !!!
CDHero
CD-RW Thug
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:46 pm

Postby 0xdeadbeef on Fri Jul 18, 2003 12:03 pm

minfo zip is corrupted!?
life's a bitch and the you die
0xdeadbeef
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:37 pm

Postby cfitz on Fri Jul 18, 2003 12:35 pm

karr_wang wrote:I have finished my download web :

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/

Thanks Karr. The site is a little slow, but it works.

Oxdeadbeef wrote:minfo zip is corrupted!?

I had no problem downloading it moments before I posted this message. Try it again.

cfitz
cfitz
CD-RW Curmudgeon
 
Posts: 4572
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 10:44 am

Postby 0xdeadbeef on Fri Jul 18, 2003 12:56 pm

OK, Minfo.zip was fixed in the meantime.
life's a bitch and the you die
0xdeadbeef
Buffer Underrun
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 12:37 pm

Postby MediumRare on Sat Jul 19, 2003 3:44 am

Congratulations on getting your new site up, Karr!

From CDFreaks:
Karr wrote:BTW , I fixed the disc size bug in v1.1.17 (different with older 1.1.17)
I didn't update it to 1.1.18 because it is only a minor bug.

So it's worthwhile picking it up again from Karr's site, even if you've already downloaded it. I can confirm that the bug is fixed so that 1.1.17 is now the version of choice. :D

cfitz wrote:The site is a little slow, but it works.

I have no issues with the speed, but I'm on a 56k dialup. :roll:

I've found that the speed display gets confused after a read error (PUH slipping) and shows an unrealistic value for quite a while (10-20 disk-minutes) after normal "testing" resumes. Unrealistic means, for example, 1.2x or 5930x when acoustics indicates the 20-26x that show when the display recovers.

G
User avatar
MediumRare
CD-RW Translator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 3:08 pm
Location: ffm

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:07 am

karr_wang wrote:I have finished my download web :

http://karr.myweb.hinet.net/

congrats.

and a minor bug:
the link Welcome to KProbe still points to the old website, which is now empty.
(first reported here).
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

Postby dodecahedron on Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:12 am

Karr's download site says:
Download KProbe full installation version (with ForceASPI v4.7)

has anyone used the full install version?
what's this ForceASPI v4.7 ?
i have ForceASPI 1.7 which installs Adaptec ASPI 4.60 (1021).
is this the same or is there a new ForceASPI ?
is the KProbe installer version an exectuable that installs it, or just a compressed file (that includes a setup.exe or something) so that i can extract the new ForceASPI without installing KProbe ?
(i don't have KProbe-compatible drives, so i don't want it properly installed on my system with registry changes and what-not).
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the land of Mordor, where the Shadows lie
-- JRRT
M.C. Escher - Reptilien
User avatar
dodecahedron
DVD Polygon
 
Posts: 6865
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 12:04 am
Location: Israel

PreviousNext

Return to Recordable Media Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
All Content is Copyright (c) 2001-2019 CDRLabs Inc.